Radio Sandwell Sport

Andy Murray wins BBC Sports Personality of the Year award

2015-12-20 22:28:49

Andy Murray

Andy Murray has been voted the BBC Sports Personality of the Year for the second time in three years.

The 2013 winner helped make history by guiding Britain to a first Davis Cup victory for 79 years.

Scot Murray, 28, was the team talisman, winning all 11 of his cup matches and triumphed in the final against Belgium.

Rugby League star Kevin Sinfield was runner-up, with heptathlete Jessica Ennis-Hill third.

A two-time major winner in his career, this year he reached the final of the Australian Open and the semi-finals of both Wimbledon and the French Open.

He was also named Young Sports Personality of the Year in 2004.

The other winners were:

Overseas Sports Personality of the Year: Dan Carter: An integral part of the New Zealand team that beat Australia 34-17 to win the World Cup in October.

Young Sports Personality of the Year: Ellie Downie: The 16-year-old gymnast won bronze in the all-around at the European Championships to make her the first female gymnast to win an individual all-around medal for Great Britain.

Coach of the Year award: Michael O'Neill: The Northern Ireland manager helped his country end a 30-year absence from tournament football by sealing a spot at Euro 2016 last month.

Lifetime Achievement Award: AP McCoy: Twenty-time champion jump jockey AP McCoy, 41, who retired in April after a record-breaking career.

Helen Rollason Award: Bailey Matthews: The eight-year-old, who has cerebral palsy, completed his first triathlon unaided.

Sport's Unsung Hero: Damien Lindsay: The west Belfast youth football coach played a huge role in his local community in his work with the St James Swifts Football Club.

Last 10 winners

2014: Lewis Hamilton   2013: Andy Murray (tennis)   2012: Sir Bradley Wiggins (cycling)   2011: Mark Cavendish (cycling)   2010: AP McCoy (horse racing)   2009: Ryan Giggs (football)   2008: Sir Chris Hoy (cycling)   2007: Joe Calzaghe (boxing)   2006: Zara Phillips (equestrian)   2005: Andrew Flintoff (cricket)


Share this story

Related Stories

Sport around the web

England beat Australia by 12 runs in thrilling ODI finale

Man City ease past Cardiff to reach fifth round - highlights & report

Arsenal boss Wenger called referee Dean 'not honest' and 'a disgrace' after West Brom draw

Arsenal manager Wenger called referee Dean 'a disgrace' after draw with West Brom

Assessing Goldberg's legacy

Borthwick-Jackson returns to United

Novice route for Samcro

'Dizzy and ill' O'Sullivan thrashes Fu 6-0 at Masters

Carvalhal: PL survival comes first

Masters: Ronnie O'Sullivan beats Marco Fu 6-0 at Alexandra Palace

Image Slider